Car Accidents In Connecticut: Who Is At Fault?
Victims of car accidents usually have lots of questions. They might be dealing with medical bills and are missing work because of their injuries. They may be suffering damages that are not easily quantifiable, like pain and suffering or loss of enjoyment in live. Fortunately, Connecticut allows victims to recover these and other damages if another party is responsible for the accident.
Connecticut currently embraces an at-fault car insurance system, which provides injured drivers the option of recovering damages from the at-fault party. To learn more about Connecticut’s at-fault car insurance laws, when a motorist can file a claim or sue for damages, and the state’s statute of limitations, read on.
Connecticut’s At-Fault Car Insurance Laws
Connecticut follows at-fault car insurance system. When an accident occurs, motorists can file claims under their own car insurance policies if they have appropriate coverage, but primary means of recovering damages if through the at-fault driver’s liability insurance. All motorists are required to carry $20,000 in bodily injury liability per person and $40,000 per accident, as well as $10,000 per accident in property damage liability.
In addition to carrying liability coverage to pay for the harm caused to others when an accident is your fault, Connecticut also requires its drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which can help pay for medical expenses in the event that a driver who doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance causes your wreck.
If the injured driver is unable to settle the insurance claim for a fair amount, she may pursue a lawsuit in civil court against the at-fault driver.
What Must An Injured Driver Pursue When Filing A Claim Or Lawsuit?
In order to recover damages via an insurance claim or a lawsuit, the plaintiff will have to establish that the other driver caused the wreck and that the wreck caused the claimant’s or plaintiff’s injuries and damages. Examples of negligence include the following.
- Driving while impaired
- Driving while intoxicated
- Driving while distracted
- Falling asleep at the wheel
- Driving without a license
- Driving aggressively
- Breaking any other traffic laws
If you can prove that the accident – and injures – occurred because of illegal or irresponsible actions of the other driver, then the at-fault driver or its insurance company will be liable for compensating you. Damages that an injured victim can collect include all medical expenses and lost wages, as well as the estimated costs of emotional pain and suffering.
Time Limits For Filing A Claim For A Car Accident
Section 52-584 of Connecticut General Assembly, Chapter 926, states that all claims for damages for personal injury based on negligence must be filed no more than two years after the injury occurs. If you wait longer than the allotted two-year period, then you lose your right to recover damages. While this can seem like a long time, don’t risk allowing the time limit to slip by – get started right away by reaching out to an attorney for help.
A Car Accident Attorney Is Ready To Represent You – Call Murphy, Laudati, Kiel & Rattigan, LLC, Now
Our attorneys will help you file an insurance claim and take the case to civil court if unable to recover fair damages. We’ll help you collect evidence to build your case and prove that you are entitled to compensation for your damages. We’ll even provide you with a free consultation so you can discuss these issues and other concerns you might have.
Contact the attorneys at Murphy, Laudati, Kiel & Rattigan, LLC, in Connecticut today. Call us now at 860-689-1195 or fill out our online contact form.